Nomination Papers for the 2022 Municipal and School Board Elections may be filed in person or by an agent with the Returning Officer/Municipal Clerk from Monday, May 2, 2022 between the hours of 10:00 a.m. and 3:00 p.m. (excluding weekends and holidays) to Thursday, August 18, 2022 and on Nomination Day, Friday, August 19, 2022 between the hours of 10:00 a.m. and 2:00 p.m.

The Nomination Period is now closed.

The required fee to accompany Nomination Papers for a member of Council or School Board Trustee is $100.00 and the required fee for Mayor is $200.00. This fee shall be paid by cash, debit card, certified cheque, or money order, made payable to the Municipality of Sioux Lookout. No credit card payments will be accepted. Nomination Papers must be certified by the Returning Officer/Municipal Clerk before such person becomes a candidate for office. A Nomination Paper must be filed prior to accepting campaign contributions or incurring expenses.

You are entitled to be an elector and to run for office if you are not disqualified by any Act or Law and on Voting Day you are or will be:

  • a resident of the Municipality of Sioux Lookout; or
  • a non resident who is an owner or tenant of land in the Municipality or the spouse of or same sex partner of such an owner or tenant;
  • a Canadian citizen;
  • at least 18 years of age; and
  • not otherwise prohibited from voting.

For information on becoming a School Board Trustee, please visit the Ontario School Board Elections website.

If you intend to run for office, or become a Third Party Advertiser, you will find the forms required below.

Candidate Nominations

Nomination Form 1 (PDF)

Declaration of Qualifications - Mayor and Council (PDF)

Declaration of Qualifications - School Board Trustee (PDF)

Consent to Release Personal Information (PDF)

Third Party Advertiser Registrations
Notice of Registration Form 7 (PDF)

Candidates for the 2022 Municipal Election

Download Form SL07A/EL20A - Official List of Candidates for Council. (PDF)

Download Form SL07B/EL20B - Official List of Candidates for Boards of Education. (PDF)

Official Sioux Lookout Mayoral Candidates
  •  Doug Lawrance [ACCLAIMED]
Official Sioux Lookout Councilor Candidates
  • Reece Van Breda
  • Cory Allan Lago
  • Joan Cosco
  • Dan Rioux
  • Brent Wesley
  • Joe Cassidy
  • Luc Beaulne
  • Joyce Timpson
  • Manuela Michelizzi

Official School Trustee Candidates

  • Jim Kulchyski (English Separate - Northwest Catholic District School Board) [ACCLAIMED]
  • Cathy Bowen (English Separate - Northwest Catholic District School Board) [ACCLAIMED]
  • Steve Poling (English Public - Keewatin-Patricia District School Board) [ACCLAIMED]
  • Anne-Marie Gélineault (French Public - Conseil Scolaire Public du Grand Nord de l'Ontario) [ACCLAIMED]
  • Micheline Lovenuk (French Separate - Conseil Scolaire de District Catholique des Aurores Boréales) [ACCLAIMED]