The following is a summary of the proceedings of the Statutory Public Meeting and the Regular Council Meeting held November 17, 2021:

  • At the Statutory Public Meeting Council received the Planning Report Respecting Zoning By-law No. Z11-2021 (94 King St). Council passed By-law No. 105-21, to amend By-law No. 85-18, Being a Comprehensive Zoning By-law at its Regular Council Meeting.
  • At the Statutory Public Meeting Council received the Planning Report Respecting the Official Plan Amendment No. OP06-2021 and Zoning By-law Amendment No. Z12-2021 (River Glory First Nation Church, 92 Abram Lake Road) and directed staff to prepare a subsequent Planning Report at a subsequent Council Meeting.
  • At the Regular Council Meeting Council approved the purchase of a new loader for the Public Works Department at a cost of $280,000 plus HST, and authorized the transfer of the funds from the Fleet Reserve to purchase the new loader.
  • Council provided direction to staff regarding the next steps for the former Mayfair Theatre, and, specifically, that the former theater and property be marketed for sale.
  • Council appointed the following members to the Sioux Lookout Municipal Tax Committee:
    • Local Accommodator – Aanchal Sharma
    • Lodge/ Outfitter – Andrea McAvan
    • Chamber Executive – Christine Hoey
    • Municipal Staff Member – Carly Collins – Treasurer
    • Public Member – Vera Kameda-Lacroix
  • Council passed By-law No. 104-21, Being a By-law to Authorize the Delegation of Authority to the CAO, the Clerk, and the Treasurer to Conduct Certain Business of The Corporation of the Municipality of Sioux Lookout and its Council during the 2022 Municipal Election Restricted Acts Period.
  • Council directed staff to take the necessary steps to implement recommendations numbers 1(a) and 2 respecting Council–appointed Boards, Commissions and Committees’ as outlined in the Clerk’s Report dated November 17, 2021. Based on the BCC Volunteer Survey and the significant level of engagement by volunteers on their Committee’s work plans, the Environment Committee and the Municipal Truth and Reconciliation Committee will continue as “Advisory Committees.” Council directed staff to eliminate the Arts, Culture and Heritage Committee, the Daycare Advisory Committee, the Economic Development Commission, the Hudson and Area Advisory Committee, the Parks and Recreation Committee and the Youth Development Commission. Instead, Ad Hoc Committees, will be developed on an as required basis, to obtain input on specific initiatives.
  • Council had no Resolutions to submit to Kenora District Municipal Association for consideration at the 2022 Kenora District Municipal Association (KDMA) Annual General Meeting.
  • Council endorsed Mayor Penny Lucas of the Township of Ignace to serve as Area 2 Representative on the Kenora District Home for the Aged Board of Directors.
  • Council passed By-law No. 109-21, Being a By-law to Authorize the Mayor and Clerk to Execute an Agreement with Morgan Fuels Inc. for the provision of 100LL Avgas Distribution Services at the Sioux Lookout Airport.

Council Briefs are provided in this format for convenience only and are not approved Minutes of the Council Meeting. For more information, please contact Brian P. MacKinnon, Manager of Corporate Services/Municipal Clerk at [email protected].

PDF version available to download at link below.